I am complete

And I complete You :)

Michael Phelps recieved a special award

on August 5, 2012
SMS messages and phone calls from the likes of US president Barack Obama followed, and tonight he was presented with a FINA lifetime achievement award by president Julio Maglione inscribed with the words: ‘To Michael Phelps, the greatest Olympic athlete of all time. From FINA. August 4 2012. London, Great Britain.
 
Michael Phelps of the USA poses on the podium with a special award presented by FINA for his career achievements on Day 8 of the London 2012 Olympic Games at the Aquatics Centre.

Phelps with a record of six gold and two bronze medals at Athens 2004 were followed by his historic eight golds at Beijing 2008.

On retiring, he added: ‘I don’t want to swim after I turn 30 and that is in three years and I don’t want to swim for another three years.

‘I would be past 30 by the time of the next Olympics. I have achieved what I wanted to achieve; Bob and I have somehow been able to do every single thing.

‘If you can say that about your career then it’s time to move forward, time to move on to other things.

‘I finished my career how I wanted to.’

Phelps’ retirement overshadowed the rest of tonight’s programme, in which the USA women set a new world record in their medley race of  3:52.05.

Congratulations Michael Phelps! 🙂

To view the latest medal standing click here

Leave a Reply

